Bed Breakfast Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  3.9
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  4.1
 Total  4.0

"Vacation in Costa Rica"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Marina P. of NJ, United States
Reviewed:   May 3, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in Sol Y Mar Backpackers for 2 nights. Hostel is very clean and secure. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a great time in Manuel Antonio.

"Lovely Hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Melanie F. of Detroit, MI, United States
Reviewed:   March 27, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our visit was great. Very Cheap. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The host makes a well balanced breakfast and a amazing cup of coffee. It is located right next to a supermarket and a bus stop. But when trying to find, keep your eyes open the sign is very hard to see.

"clean, the owner was nice and cooked us breakfast. felt safe."

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Katie H. of cincincinnati, oh, United States
Reviewed:   March 25, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
clean, the owner was nice and cooked us breakfast. felt safe.

"Perfect!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sandra E. of Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed:   March 16, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very cheap, very nice! Hostel in a small djungel, we lived in a little bungalow with four beds. Friendly host makes wonderful (included) breakfast. Close to everything you need! Go there!

"Friendly, accomodating, and tranquil"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Charon G. of New Haven, United States
Reviewed:   February 27, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I lengthened my stay in Manuel Antonio because I liked the atmosphere at Sol y Mar so much. I stayed there for three nights in total. The staff is friendly and very accomodating. The dorm room i stayed in was clean, bright, and roomy. At breakfast in the morning, monkeys came down to visit. I highly recommend Sol y Mar for your stay in Manuel Antonio.

"Nice place to live in Manuel Antonio !"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Nancy G. of Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   January 27, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Sol Y Mar is a really nice place to live. The owner is pretty nice and really helpful, and the rooms are clean and also quiet.

PS:
Please, the owner, could you write me back. I am Nancy, you helped me to go to Corcovado. I don;t have any number nor email adress to reach you.

thanks

"Basic and clean"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Maria K. of NYC, United States
Reviewed:   January 6, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
THe room is very basic with even no chairs. BUT it is very clean, being cleaned every day. The shower is not really hot, but you really do not need it in Manuel Antonio. No breakfast, but there are many places right outside. Good location, 20-30 walk to the beach, or next to the bus station with bus going to the beach every 20 min. Quiet. Big lockers. MOST IMPORTANTLY - 1 min walk to the Lounge - a #1 nightlife spot in Manuel ANtonio, so I never took a taxi in MA.
I recommend it, great for the beach location, as you are never there anyway.

"I stayed until I booked a room at the hotel next door"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Cee S. of NYC, NY, United States
Reviewed:   January 6, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The room I was shown in was more like a suite with kitchen and large sitting area. There is A/C, but you can't open the windows since there's no mosquito nets. The whole place had very strong mildew odor. I open the window despite the mosquitos and tried A/C fan, but nothing seem to make a dent on getting rid of mildew smell. I asked for another room, but was told nothing else was available. There are cobwebs(place hasn't been cleaned) and midew on the wooden closet right next to bed. Worst of all, the steep slope with slippery stepping stones(leading to the room) are so poorly lit and badly laid out you can fall very easily, especially if it rains. I went out to book a room in other hotel. I didn't want to ask for refund for that night, so I just got refund for the next night since I've already paid for two nights. Don't book with this place more than one night(only if necessary). There are other places nearby for backpackers with cleaner facility.

"A wonderful, comfortable stay!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Natalie H. of Raleigh, United States
Reviewed:   September 23, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have stayed about a week in this hostel, and it is a breath of fresh air. It is quite close to anything you might need, including the grocery store, bank/atm, pharmacy, plenty of cheap but nice resteraunts, and lots of fun, easy-going bars. It is a nice walk to the beach (about 30 minutes), but if you don´t want to walk, the bus to the beach is very cheap and right next to the hostel. It is a clean hostel, with nice sized rooms, a fridge in each room, a good sized bathroom in every room, and a great book collection for rainy afternoons (of which there are many). There are beautiful plants everywhere, and there is also a garden. The best thing about the hostel, however, is the owner, her family, and her animals. She is a wonderful lady who tells you "My house is your house", and really means it. If you are looking for a place to feel comfortable in a strange country, then this is definitely it. It is a extremely pleasant environment, and if you need to practice your Spanish or prefer English, the owner is bilingual. All in all, I think anybody will truly enjoy this place.


Previous 10 results  11 - 19 of 19 reviews




BedBreakfastReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us