Bed Breakfast Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  1.8
 Rooms  1.8
 Cleanliness  2.3
 Location  1.8
 Security & Safety  2.5
 Service & Staff  2.0
 Food / Dining  1.8
 Total  2.0

"Hostel Ruca Potu"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Stephen L. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   May 24, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very good service and advise provided by the owner himself. Since it is directly run by the owner therefore all our request can be easily excecuted.

"Non-existant pool, no hot water, shower leaked into bedroom"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Dave H. of Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   December 18, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Well, where to begin. You will probably see the hostel advertising
that they are 5 blocks from the city center and 5 blocks from the bus
station. Neither of these are true. While they are not too much
further from the bus station, they are probably a 30 minute walk to
the areas of interest in Mendoza. As we are typically walkers anyway,
we were okay with this. Immediately after arriving though, we started
noticing strange things about the hostel. First, for the unusually
high amount that they charge, there was no hot water. We have been
living abroad for a year and are used to every imaginable
situation…this is not rural third-world south America. This is a
major city, and though the owners of the hostal would like to lead the
novice travel on to believe they are poor and life is hard, they have
two cars and their own hostal van…business is not bad. Though the
bathroom is very nicely and modernly decorated, some things just
didn't make sense. The shower had no curtain or separation from the
rest of the bathroom, so every time you turned on the water you would
find a puddle in the bedroom. Again, we have traveled through just
about every imaginable scenario, and were okay with these things, even
though it was quite outrageous considering the inflated prices.

"Horrible Service!!"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Stephanie A. of Wisconsic, United States
Reviewed:   December 11, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would never recommend this hostel to anyone...it was a nightmare!! We prepaid for three nights plus put down a 30 peso deposit and found out the afternoon of the first night (the night before Christmas eve) that my mother has cancer. We let him know immediately what happened, that we were changing our plans, and leaving the following morning to rush home. He would not give us any of the money back for the following two prepaid nights because he "wouldn't be able to fill the room." However, I saw him successfully soliciting for people at the bus station the following morning. In addition, since he was not at the hostel the morning we left we could not get 1/3 of our deposit back as he had charged us more than the normal deposit. Anyone that values money (approximately 70 USD worth) more than customer service and concern for people is not a good place to be in my book! Even no frills Spirit airlines was able to change our flight without problem or charge!!

"2 nights at Ruca-Potu"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Louise P. of Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   March 26, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
OK. I am writing this after several requests to do so. It is based SOLELY on my own personal experience and opinion and 2 nights in what I think must have been the 'cabin'.

Ariel (sp?), the larger-than-life guy who runs the hostel was EXTREMELY helpful and sympathetic after being woken by my psychotic taxi-driver at a ridiculous hour in the morning and for this I am sincerely grateful. He and his partner do make the guests feel at home.

The room was at least average - nice bathroom with huge shower and enough bedroom space certainly for just one (but this was a 3-bedded room).

The problem I had was with the noise from other (younger) guests who I guess understably took advantage of the free wine and were very loud until at least 2 in the morning. For example, I was not happy at having to ask a couple of guys to cut out playing table soccer at about 1am just outside my door! All noise was accentuated by the fact that there was a gap of about 4 inches under my door and no insulation. I could hear (without trying) conversations as though they were actually in my room. I'm all for people having fun but the primary role of a hostel as far as I'm concerned is for sleep (before the sun rises) .........

I find the hostel description a little misleading and optimistic. For example, as far as 'full board' (as advertised at the time) is concerned, from what I could make out that just meant a meagre breakfast and free wine (no complaints about that though). Also, the swimming pool is very small.

Just one other factor which spoilt it for me was the smokey atmosphere in the house. Had I realised smoking was permitted anywhere I certainly wouldn't have booked it.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




BedBreakfastReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us