Bed Breakfast Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.4
 Rooms  2.1
 Cleanliness  2.9
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.7
 Service & Staff  3.0
 Food / Dining  3.1
 Total  3.0

"No tienen en cuenta las reservas"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Gemma H. of Girona, Catalunya, Spain
Reviewed:   January 11, 2012  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Efectivamente, como ya comentavan otros huespedes, las reservas hechas via IWB no habian llegado a la dirección del hostal. Tubimos suerte y, de las dos habitaciones que habiamos pedido, nos dieron una para tres personas. Los viajeros que llegaron mas tarde con el mismo problema que nosotros no tubieron tanta suerte.
Por otra parte el hostal se ajusta a las espectativas. Habitaciones muy modestas, pero buen ambiente y centrico.

"okay stay"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Teri E. of Durham, NC, United States
Reviewed:   August 20, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
it was very hot. not having AC made it difficult to sleep. The managment helped us with arrange sight seeing activites. The bikes for rent were helpful, though not in very good shape.

"A startling reality from the photos on their website"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Paul D. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 1, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Booked a Private double room at this hostel via IWB, and boy am i glad they cant charge credit cards-

The cost for 2 nights was around 80 USD.
From the photos on the hostels own website, you get one picture, a picture of many years ago when it was all bright n new.

Perhaps the reason why they dont have photos on IWB for this hostel.

The so called kitchen area was vastly different.
The room decoration was non existant.

They didnt have my reservation as it seems that checking the emails is not an important function to this hostel.

I would have stayed had it not been for their insistance on charging the 80 USd for something that was worth maybe 20 USD per night.

So, i hopped round the corner to the Hotel Mayan, decent ensuite room, with good fan, smiley staff and half the price......and without having to walk in the road of a busy highway, which is what you have to do to get to the Casa del sol.

All in all, if you want a hippy scene, and dont mind paying their, in my opinion, extortionate rates, then go for the casa del sol. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

"not so bueno"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   John Z. of Victoria, Canada
Reviewed:   January 10, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Mexicoinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Do not book online. They did not have my reservation and so I lost the 10% deposit I paid for the booking with the online option. Further, and I suppose because they did not have the booking in the 1st place, the room I had asked for was not available so I had to take the general sleeping area. What can I say, crowded bunk room with dirty bathrooms and no warm water. I left after one night and found much nicer accommodations for not much more money... The 1 really positive thing I can say is everyone there were friendly and nice!

"Terrible"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Andrea S. of Toronto, Canada
Reviewed:   December 20, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Please do not use this site to book the hostel. It's a rip off. The lady Luci, who runs the hostel does not speak english and does not really know how to use computer let alone to use on line booking system.
We arrived really late just to discover that she has no room available that we booked and we met there a few people who were in the same situation.

"not a good value, felt they were trying to rip us off"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Patrick J. of austin, tx, United States
Reviewed:   July 23, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
good things about the place: interesting people, nice town, relatively nice cabana rooms - but quite expensive for cabanas in downtown tulum not in the zona. the collective kitchen was good, and so were the breakfasts.

so we reserved a double private room with no ac, which i didn't think would be a problem until we got to the room and realized that it was like a concrete oven with no ventilation whatsoever. you know, if you're gonna say a room is available, you might check to see if it is first habitable. nobody would find this room comfortable; not tourists, not locals...

and the shared bathrooms were kinda gross... even for shared bathrooms. i blame the travellers for that.

we asked to be switched to a single with no private bathroom, which was ok but i made the mistake of arguing for a discount (you know, so we'd only pay the published price of said room); that was quite a scene - it was kinda like pulling teeth from someone who selectively chose not to understand our limited spanish abilities.

"best and cheapest place to stay in tulum, do not miss it!"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Paul A. of london, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   March 12, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed there when it was still a building site and was so glad I did. Carlos, his son and Alberto treated me like family. They cooked for me took me to the best places to eat in town. They even took me to the beach and collected me even though there is a bus almost door to door. Do not miss the excellent ruins, early in the morning. They could not do enough for me, the bus station is only a five minute walk. Alberto even woke me up at 4am, so I could get the first bus!The beach places are dirty and expensive, ultra basic only one bar and restaurant, NOT good!... I cried when I had to leave Casa del Sol.


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




BedBreakfastReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us